Alabama Shakes Perform "Gimme All Your Love" and "Don't Wanna Fight" on "Saturday Night Live"

pitchfork - il y a 2 heures 2 min

Photo by Dana Edelson/NBC

Alabama Shakes' new album Sound & Color is out in April, and last night, they performed two tracks from the record on "Saturday Night Live". (Fifty Shades of Grey star Dakota Johnson hosted.) Watch Brittany Howard and the band do "Gimme All Your Love" and "Don't Wanna Fight" below.

The show also featured an appearance from "Kanye West" (played by Jay Pharoah) on Weekend Update. He rapped an apology to Beck, Michael Keaton, Apple, Update anchor Colin Jost, and more. Watch it below.

"Gimme All Your Love":

"Don't Wanna Fight":

"Kanye West" on "Weekend Update":

Here's the episode's promos featuring the band:

Catégories: News

Kanye West Announces New Album Title

pitchfork - il y a 11 heures 1 min

Photo by Erez Avissar

Kanye West has finally announced the title of the followup to 2013's Yeezus:

So Help Me God

— KANYE WEST (@kanyewest) March 1, 2015

Previously, we've heard the opening track, "Wolves", featuring Sia and Vic Mensa. It was debuted at the fashion show launch for Kanye's Adidas collaboration and then performed on "Saturday Night Live"'s 40th Anniversary Special. We've also heard "Only One", Kanye's collaboration with Paul McCartney, as well as "All Day".

Kanye's Adidas presentation, featuring "Wolves":

"Only One":

Catégories: News

Kanye West Gives Emotional Performance of “Only One” on "The Jonathan Ross Show"

pitchfork - il y a 13 heures 15 min

Kanye West swung by Britain's "The Jonathan Ross Show" to do another performance of "Only One" inside a modern lightbox similar to the one he recently used for his SNL40 performance. This time, he gave an emotional shout out to his daughter at the end, adding: “Nori’s my daughter’s name... I have her name right here on my chest” after collapsing onto the floor. Watch the performance below via Stereogum.

West also recently performed the song with slightly different staging on the Swedish TV show "Skavlan". Watch it here.

Catégories: News

Kathleen Hanna Interviews Lesley Gore in Previously Unaired 2005 Interview

pitchfork - 28 février, 2015 - 21:43

Kathleen Hanna photo by Chloe Aftel

The feminist icon and 1960s pop singer Lesley Gore died earlier this month from cancer complications. In her memory, the nationally syndicated radio show "Women's Media Center Live With Robin Morgan" aired a previously unreleased 2005 interview featuring another feminist icon. Listen to Kathleen Hanna (Bikini Kill/Le Tigre/the Julie Ruin) interview Gore here (or download it as a podcast on iTunes here) around the 30:00 mark.

In the interview, which was published as a feature in Ms. Magazine, the two women discuss Gore's 2005 album Ever Since, writing songs like "You Don't Own Me", the role of older women in the music industry, and much more.

Read our 5-10-15-20 interview with Hanna.

Watch the Julie Ruin on's "+1":

Catégories: News

Pussy Riot's "Don't Cry Genocide" Featuring Le Tigre Members Appears on "House of Cards"

pitchfork - 28 février, 2015 - 19:31

Pussy Riot's Nadya Tolokonnikova and Masha Alyokhina recently revealed that they'd been working with Le Tigre's JD Samson and Johanna Fateman. They later revealed to Pitchfork that they'd recorded two songs. One of those songs appeared on an episode in the newest season of Netflix's "House of Cards", which featured Tolokonnikova and Alyokhina.

In the episode, fictional Russian president Viktor Petrov (Lars Mikkelsen, in an obvious nod to Putin) attends a state dinner in Washington which is attended by Tolokonnikova and Alyokhina. After receiving a condescending toast from the Putin-inspired character, they offer a scalding dedication of their own before storming out.

The episode ends with the Samson and Fateman-assisted song "Don't Cry Genocide". Watch the credits sequence below via Revolt.

Fateman wrote about the experience of working with Pussy Riot and working on "House of Cards" in an Art in America article. Read it here.

Pussy Riot recently worked with Richard Hell, Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Nick Zinner, and Miike Snow's Andrew Wyatt for a song and video titled "I Can't Breathe". It featured Hell reading Eric Garner's last words.

Read our recent interview with Pussy Riot.

Catégories: News